marcus rashford

Top 11 Goalkeepers For Their National Teams

11. Dida

One of Brazil’s finest goalkeepers ever, Dida was an integral part of the 2002 World Cup winning Canarinho squad.

Dida was also an important part of the Brazil team that won the 1999 Copa America, the FIFA Confederations cup in 1997 and 2005. He was also inducted in the hall of fame.

10. Edwin Van Der Saar

The Manchester United and Ajax legend Van Der Saar is one of Netherlands all time greats.

Van Der Saar gained popularity due to his unique technique, he would use any body part to stop a shot from going in the net. Van Der Saar also set up a 1311 minute clean sheet record.

9. Oliver Kahn

Former German Captain Oliver Kahn had such a massive reputation that he would terrorize even the best of strikers.

Kahn almost single-handedly took to the 2002 World Cup final where they were defeated by Brazil. Kahn reflexes and his leadership qualities made him one of the all time greats.

8. Gordon Banks

The legendary English goalkeeper is the only Brit stopper to have won the World Cup. Banks developed a great understanding of his defenders game during trainning sessions.

Banks also played for against Rest of the World team to celebrate 100 years of the Football Association.


The legend and current goalkeeper Cech is also the captain of his national team Czech Republic.

Czech has been very instrumental for both his clubs and country’s success in the last decade and has established himself as one of the all time greats.

6. Peter Schmeichel

The Manchester United legend was voted the goalkeeper of the year for two consecutive years in 1992 and 1993.

Schmeichel is Denmarks most capped player with 129 appearances, leading his team to the EURO’s in 1992 and the Quarterfinals in the 1998 World Cup.

5. Fabian Barthez

Barthez is ’s greatest goalkeeper, he also established himself as a key member at Manchester United.

Barthez won the World Cup in 1998, The EURO’s in 2000 and also reached the finals of the 2006 World Cup.

4. Iker Casillas


’s captain Iker Casillas has won the IFFHS World’s Best Goal Keeper award a record 5 times, having also won all major club and international honours.

Casillas’s biggest strength are his reflexes and his amazing positioning. He has also been named in the UEFA Team of the Year for a record six times.

3. Sepp Maier

The German stopper played for West Germany from 1962 to 1979 appearing in four consecutive World Cups.

The former star won a World Cup, a EURO, Three ’s and three European Cup. He was also named German footballer of the year three times.

2. Lev Yashin

The former Dynamo Moscow played for the formerly Soviet Union and earned 78 caps for the national team.

Yashin won the Ballon d’Or in 1963, becoming the only goalkeeper ever to win the award, and he is said to have saved 151 penalties in his career.


The Italian captain is the most capped Italian player and holds the record for most clean sheets in Seria A. He won the World Cup in 2006.

Buffon went unbeaten for 974 consecutive minutes during the 2015–16 season, as well as having 12 consecutive clean sheets in the same season at the age of 38.

You don't have permission to register