marcus rashford

Falcao, James Lead Provisional Colombia World Cup Squad

Colombia coach Jose Pekerman on Monday named uncapped goalkeeper Ivan Arboleda to his provisional 30-man squad for the World Cup in Russia.

Arboleda, 22, has been a revelation this season for the Argentine top division club Banfield, and is widely touted as a successor to Colombia’s current first-choice keeper David Ospina.

Pekerman also called up winger Juan Cuadrado and Boca Juniors midfielder Sebastian Perez, who recently returned from respective groin and knee injuries.

La fuerza aérea de @falcao en su máximo esplendor. ??⚽ #FCFMayores

A post shared by Selección Colombia (@fcfseleccioncol) on

As expected, the squad is led by Monaco striker Radamel Falcao and midfielder James Rodriguez. Also named were center-back Yerry Mina, defender Davinson Sanchez and Villarreal striker Carlos Bacca.

Pekerman will have until June 4 to trim his squad to 23.

Colombia will begin their World Cup campaign against Japan on June 19 and will also face Poland and Senegal in Group H.

Colombia squad
Goalkeepers: David Ospina (/England), Camilo Vargas (Deportivo Cali), Ivan Arboleda (Banfield/), Jose Fernando Cuadrado (Once Caldas).

Defenders: Santiago Arias (PSV Eindhoven/), Frank Fabra (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Davinson Sanchez (Tottenham/England), Cristian Zapata (AC Milan/Italy), Yerry Mina (Barcelona/) Johan Mojica (Girona/), Bernardo Espinosa (Girona/), Oscar Murillo (Pachuca/Mexico), Farid Diaz (Olimpia/Paraguay), Stefan Medina (Monterrey/Mexico), William Tesillo (Leon/Mexico).

Midfielders: Abel Aguilar (Cali), Wilmar Barrios (Boca Juniors/Argentina), James Rodriguez (Bayern Munich/), Carlos Sanchez (Espanyol/Spain), Jefferson Lerma (Levante/Spain), Giovanni Moreno (Shanghai Shenhua/China PR), Juan Fernando Quintero (River Plate/Argentina), Edwin Cardona (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Juan Guillermo Cuadrado (Juventus/Italy), Gustavo Cuellar (Flamengo/), Sebastian Perez (Boca Juniors/Argentina), Mateus Uribe (America/Mexico)

Forwards: Radamel Falcao (Monaco/), Carlos Bacca (Villarreal/Spain), Duvan Zapata (Sampdoria/Italy), Miguel Borja (Palmeiras/Brazil), Jose Izquierdo (Brighton/England), Luis Muriel (Sevilla/Spain), Teofilo Gutierrez (Junior), Yimmi Chara (Junior).

With inputs from Xinhua

You don't have permission to register