HomeNewsArgentina Drag 23 Years Of Bad Karma Into Final

Argentina Drag 23 Years Of Bad Karma Into Final

Published on:



When it comes to international tournaments, Argentina’s national soccer team have lost the last six finals they have participated in.

They have gone 23 years without being Copa America champions and the last final that they lost was in the Copa America 2015 held in Chile. The South American side lost to the hosts in a penalty shootout after the match ended 0-0 after extra time.

Argentina will once again face Chile on Sunday evening in the final of the 2016 Centennial Copa America which will played in the metropolitan area of  New York City  in the United States.

Argentina last won a Copa America title back in Ecuador 1993, with goals from Gabriel Batistuta against Mexico.

The last six consecutive finals lost by Argentina are the following:

1- FIFA Confederations Cup 1995 (then called the King Fahd Cup) losing 2-0 against Denmark.

2- Copa America Peru 2004, drawing 2-2 and then losing 4-2 in penalties to Brazil.

3- Confederations Cup 2005, 4-1 to Brazil.

4- Copa America Venezuela 2007, 3-0 to Brazil.

5- World Cup Brazil 2014, losing 1-0 to Germany’s national team.

6- Copa America Chile 2015, 4-1 in penalty shootout against the host team

Argentina Bad Karma

also read

German resurgence

GOAT of Saudi too

Pique, El Rey