marcus rashford

England Announce Squad For World Cup Qualifier

sam allardyce englandNew Three Lions boss announced the 23-member squad on Sunday for their 2018 World Cup Group F qualifier against on Sunday, September 4.

Out-of-favour Man City goalkeeper has been included in the squad, while Man Utd prodigy has been axed.

Daniel Sturridge has seen a dip in his form at the start of the new season but despite lack of game time, he has been included as one of the main strikers beside Jamie Vardy and .

Michail AntonioWest Ham winger Michail Antonio is all set to make his debut for England after being included in the England setup for the first time.

While commenting on Antonio’s selection, Sam Allardyce said: “I think he’s in outstanding form.”

“This is another lad with a great journey – it’s a fantastic journey that he’s been on, from non-league to now an international call-up. He scored nine goals in his first season and he’s a terrific athlete, a good crosser and a goal-scorer.”

Luke Shaw makes a return to the England squad after recovering from a broken leg injury that he pulled up against PSV last year.

Theo Walcott made the cut, while Arsenal midfielder and Everton’s Ross Barkley has been dropped from the new squad.

sam allardyceTalking to the ahead of the announcement, Allardyce said: “I think every player that’s on top of his game at the moment and every player who’s played for England recently, we’ve monitored through the start of the Premier League…”


Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley)

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Danny Rose (), Luke Shaw (), Chris Smalling (), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker ()

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Michail Antonio (West Ham United), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Theo Walcott (Arsenal)

Strikers: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

You don't have permission to register