HomeNewsWorld Cup 2014 Hero Gotze Axed From Germany's 27-Man Preliminary Squad

World Cup 2014 Hero Gotze Axed From Germany’s 27-Man Preliminary Squad

Published on:

Germany have officially named their 27-man preliminary squad for the 2018 World Cup.

The provisional squad has 2014 World Cup heroes including Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels, Mesut Ozil, Thomas Muller and Manuel Neuer, who is recovering from injury.

But Head Coach Joachim Low has axed World Cup final goal scorer Mario Gotze from the list.

Julian Brandt, Leroy Sane, Joshua Kimmich, and Timo Werner have also been included in the list.

The provisional squad will be brought down to 23 by June 4, with the tournament starting on June 14.

27-man Germany Squad

Goalkeepers: Marc-André Ter Stegen (Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Kevin Trapp (PSG), Manuel Neuer (Bayern).

Defenders: Jerôme Boateng (Bayern), Matthias Ginter (B. Mönchengladbach), Mats Hummels (Bayern), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea), Jonas Hector (Colonia), Niklas Süle (Bayern), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen).

Midfielders: Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Sami Khedira (Juventus), Mesut Özil (Arsenal), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City), Julian Draxler (PSG), Sebastian Rudy (Bayern).

Forwards: Leroy Sané (Manchester City), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Thomas Müller (Bayern), Mario Gómez (Stuttgart), Marco Reus (B. Dortmund), Nils Petersen (Friburgo).

Team FootTheBall
Team FootTheBall brings you all the latest updates from the world of Football and is managed by our team of journalists

also read

GOAT of Saudi too

Pique, El Rey

Bolt from the Blues