HomeNewsCopa America 2016 To Feature Six Concacaf Teams

Copa America 2016 To Feature Six Concacaf Teams

Published on:

Copa America 2016 USA
Copa America 2016, USA

Next year’s Copa America centenary edition will include 10 teams from South America and six from Central America, North America and the Caribbean, officials said on Friday.

The tournament will be played in the United States from June 2-26 with the host cities yet to be confirmed, South American football’s governing body Conmebol said in statement.

Football’s oldest continental competition will be held outside of its normal four-year cycle to commemorate its 100th anniversary.

Each of Conmebol’s 10 member nations are automatically guaranteed a berth while Concacaf’s Mexico, the USA, Costa Rica and Jamaica have also booked their places.

Panama, Cuba, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago will compete for three remaining spots at a January tournament in Panama.

also read

German resurgence

GOAT of Saudi too

Pique, El Rey