HomeNewsWhat! Spain, Portugal, France And Italy To Feature In Copa America 2019

What! Spain, Portugal, France And Italy To Feature In Copa America 2019

Published on:

The 2019 Copa America in Brazil could feature four teams from Europe, under a proposal to expand football’s oldest continental tournament.

Messi Copa Final
A photograph by Robin Sen from the stadium at the Copa Ameria 2016 Final

South American football governing body CONMEBOL is considering a plan to invite Spain, Portugal, France and Italy to participate in the competition, according to Brazilian news service Globo Esporte.

It said a meeting of CONMEBOL officials in the coming weeks would decide whether the tournament will be expanded from its current 10-team format.

One proposal is to create a 12-team competition featuring CONMEBOL’s 10 South American nations plus Mexico and the USA.

Copa America 2019

“But there is also an idea to further increase the number of participants and include Latin European countries,” Globoesporte said, adding that Japan had also shown interest in taking part.

The 2019 Copa America will be the last to be played in an odd year. From 2020, the tournament will be held in the same four-year cycle as the UEFA European Championship.⁠⁠⁠⁠

(With Inputs From Xinhua)

ALSO READ: The Key Takeaways From Latest Round Of CONMEBOL World Cup Qualifiers

Team FootTheBall
Team FootTheBall brings you all the latest updates from the world of Football and is managed by our team of journalists

also read