Published on:

The FA Cup, known officially as The Football Association Challenge Cup, is an annual knockout football competition in men’s domestic English football. First played during the 1871–72 season, it is the oldest national football competition in the world.

It is organized by and named after The Football Association (The FA). Since 2015, it has been known as The Emirates FA Cup after its headline sponsor.

The competition is open to any eligible club down to Level 10 of the English football league system – all 92 professional clubs in the Premier League (level 1) and the English Football League (levels 2 to 4), and several hundred non-League teams in steps 1 to 6 of the National League System (levels 5 to 10).

A record 763 clubs competed in 2011–12. The tournament consists of 12 randomly drawn rounds followed by the semi-finals and the final. Entrants are not seeded, although a system of byes based on league level ensures higher ranked teams enter in later rounds, the minimum number of games needed to win, depending on which round a team enters the competition, ranges from six to fourteen.

However, the top guns have always found it so difficult to be among the top marksmen, owing to it to the lower games by the top clubs who might eventually be the winner of the cup competition.

However, Son Heung-min of Tottenham Hotspur in 2016/2017 managed to tie Adam Morgan of Curzon Ashton on six goals apiece. Although notable star who was behind was Sergio Kun Aguero who scored 5goals in the cup tourney.

In the previous edition prior to the 2019/2020 season edition of the cup competition, Romelu Lukaku was prominent enough in front of to score five goals in the competition, owing to it to his four appearances. But, he couldn’t beat the prolific of Ian Henderson with six goals and Will Grigg the top marksman with seven goals.

The just-concluded edition was no different as the champion team player emerged the top scorer in the tourney. Harry McKirdy and Jimmy Ball recorded a prolific goal-scoring feat with five goals apiece and joint scorer top scorer. But the latter was the most prolific goal scorer as the Solihull Moors football club striker recorded a staggering feat of averaging a goal every 31 minute his on the field.

Although, their goals seemed baseless as their club could not really move ahead of the competition later stage ladder, their “goal proficiency is beyond a scarce to eye”.

In this edition, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Arsenal football club made it to the list of FA Cup top goal scorers, the star of the tournament owing only four goals to his name. The Fly Emirate Club captain recorded two goals apiece in the semifinal and finale of the cup competition.

The Gunner was undoubtedly the underdog in the semifinal tie against Manchester City but the two goals from the club captain were enough to secure their place in a very late FA Cup final tie against Chelsea in August.

Even in the finale, the final position of the Gunners on the English Premier League table rather make Arsenal a little underdog going to the final but the Gabonese international two goals in each half of the game ensure that the Gunner secures their fourteenth FA Cup title despite trailing the blues from an early stage of the match.

Although the Gunners captain was on the scoreboard four times in the tourney, the Gabonese prolific was seconded to Jimmy Ball who recorded a prolific goal-scoring feat a goal every 31 minutes he’s on the field but was match by Adam Idah of Norwich city with a record of a goal every 45 minutes of play

Although, the top scorer in any competition deserved their and the Emirate FA Cup highest goal scorer is no exemption. But, owing to the publicity of the England elite club competition, the praise and recognition of the top goalscorer are scarcely mentioned.


In below is the list of the top goal scorer in the 2019/2020 Emirate FA Cup


Player (Club) Goals Minutes played Minutes per Goal Assists
Harry McKirdy (Carlisle United) 5 313 63 1
Jimmy Ball (Solihull Moors) 5 157 31 0
Nathan Delfouneso (Blackpool) 4 360 90 1
Maxime Biamou (Coventry) 4 393 98 1
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal) 4 180 45 0
Tom Pope (Port Vale) 4 191 48 0
Morgan Ferrier (Tranmere) 4 404 101 0
Miguel Almirón (Newcastle) 4 442 111 0
Nathan Thomas (Carlisle) 3 407 136 2
Jordan Williams (Fylde) 3 264 88 1
Ross Barkley (Chelsea) 3 327 109 1
Vadaine Oliver (Northampton) 3 358 119 1
Adam Idah (Norwich) 3 136 45 0
Tom Eaves (Hull) 3 159 53 0
Michael Smith (Rotherham) 3 206 69 0
Odion Ighalo (Man Utd) 3 221 74 0
Padraig Amond (Newport) 3 295 98 0
Josh Murphy (Cardiff) 3 378 126 0
Kieron Morris (Tranmere) 3 600 200 0
Nicky Adams (Northampton) 3 419 210 4
Sam Hoskins (Northampton) 2 360 180 3
Conor Chaplin (Barnsley) 2 180 90 2
Callum Paterson (Cardiff) 2 313 157 2
Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth) 2 338 169 2
Corey Taylor (Tranmere) 2 375 188 2


also read

German resurgence

GOAT of Saudi too

Pique, El Rey