HomeNewsPep's Premier League

Pep’s Premier League

Published on:

They’ve done it again. As Arsenal lost to Nottingham Forest to complete one of the most remarkable title race collapses in recent history, Manchester City won the Premier League title before even kicking the ball this weekend. With this win, the Pep Guardiola Premier League title collection added another medal to it.

The Spaniard has now won five PL titles during his seven-year stay at the club. This is a remarkable record and looks set to extend as his City side looks set to go from strength to strength.

Here is a timeline of all of Pep Guardiola’s Premier League titles as he makes the toughest league in the world a “Farmer’s League“!

Read more:

Pep Guardiola Premier League titles

1st- 2017/18

Pep Guardiola had a brutal first taste of English football during his first year at Manchester City in the 2016/17 season. The Cityzens came third, and had chastening losses to Everton, Leicester City, Tottenham, and more. Guardiola acknowledged it as one of the toughest seasons of his career and a comeback was on the cards.

What a comeback it was.

City blitzed through the league in the 2017/18 season, becoming the first centurions in the Premier League era. They broke the PL record for most points, most wins, most away wins, most goals, and more as the other teams looked hapless in front of Guardiola’s winning machine.

Sergio Aguero was their top scorer with 21 goals but City found goals all across the pitch, with Sterling pitching in with 18, and Gabriel Jesus scoring 13. Aguero scored three hattricks that season, a PL record then. The Pep era had begun and with a bang.

2nd- 2018/19

Winning the title was one thing, but could they retain it? In one of the most exciting title races in recent memory, Manchester City answered the question in emphatic fashion.

Jurgen Klopp’s relentless Reds ran them close, finishing on 97 points with only one loss all season. However, City’s remarkable standards meant even that wasn’t enough, as they took the title home with 98 points.

Sergio Aguero was the talisman again with 21 goals, also equalling his record of three hattricks in a season. The bar had been set high, and even those coming close couldn’t get over it.

3rd- 2020/21

The “Three-Peat” had only been achieved twice in English football, both times by Manchester United won the titles three consecutive times during the spans of 1998-2000 and 2006-2008.

Pep Guardiola would have to wait before adding his name to the list as Liverpool came back with a vengeance in the 2019/20 season.

However, it was impossible to keep City down for long. The 2020/21 season was business as usual as City finished 12 points ahead of 2nd placed United en route to their third title in four years. The points total came down from their unbelievable standards, finishing with “only” 86 points but Guardiola was planning the spine of his next great team that would dominate the start of the decade.

4th- 2021/22

If Liverpool’s 2019/20 title was revenge for City’s 2018/19 title, City’s 2021/22 title was revenge for Liverpool’s victory.

The “nearly men” of the Premier League in the Pep Guardiola era were again left wondering what could have been as this time, 92 points from Liverpool weren’t enough to win them the league.

Manchester City finished on 93 points, including a memorable win on their final day against Aston Villa after trailing by two goals. Liverpool were given hope, and then City snatched it away ruthlessly.

5th- 2022/23

The three-peat is finally here. What do you get when you add the world’s best goalscorer to a team that won 93 points the season before? A season on the brink of immortality.

As Erling Haaland rewrote record books, City inch closer to the list of teams that have won the treble. Upstarts Arsenal looked to win their first PL title in 20 years under the brilliant Mikel Arteta. Again City’s relentlessness, coupled with Arsenal inexcusably falling apart led to Guardiola’s men sealing the title with three games to spare.

Haaland broke the record for most goals in a Premier League season as Manchester City went on another one of their trademark ridiculous winning streaks when the chips were down.

The Guardiola era is well and truly here and shows no signs of stopping. Scary times ahead for English football.

Vatsal Gupta
A die-hard Red Devil, who has straight up not had a good time since 2012. Lives on Korean dramas and books and can often be heard talking about armchair psychological stuff.

also read