HomeFIFA World CupWorld Cup history lesson

World Cup history lesson

Published on:

The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup is approaching and the biggest festival in world football has everyone excited. World Cup is a tournament with a storied history. Numerous teams and players have etched their names in the annals of history with decorated performances in the World Cup. The 2022 World Cup in Qatar promises more of the same.

So, here is the most comprehensive celebration of history as we create a FIFA World Cup winners list, along with world cup winning captains, managers and the unfortunate runner-ups.

Year Host Nation Winner Runner-up Final Score Winning Captain Winning Manager
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina 4-2 Jose Nasazzi Alberto Suppici
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia 2-1 Gianpiero Combi Vittorio Pozzo
1938 France Italy Hungary 4-2 Giuseppe Meazza Vittorio Pozzo
1942 No WC —- —- —- —- —-
1946 No WC —- —- —- —- —-
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil 2-1 Obdulio Varela Juan Lopez
1954 Switzerland W.Germany Hungary 3-4 Fritz Walter Sepp Herberger
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden 4-2 Hilderaldo Bellini Vicente Feola
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia 3-1 Mauro Ramos Aymore Moreira
1966 England England W.Germany 4-2 Bobby Moore Alf Ramsey
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy 4-1 Carlos Alberto Mario Zagallo
1974 W.Germany W.Germany Netherlands 2-1 Franz Beckenbauer Helmut Schoen
1978 Argentina Argentina Netherlands 3-1 Daniel Passarella Cesar Luis Menotti
1982 Spain Italy W.Germany 3-1 Dino Zoff Enzo Bearzot
1986 Mexico Argentina W.Germany 3-2 Diego Maradona Carlos Bilardo
1990 Italy W.Germany Argentina 1-0 Lothar Matthaus Franz Beckenbauer
1994 USA Brazil Italy 0-0(3-2) Dunga Carlos Alberto Parreira
1998 France France Brazil 3-0 Didier Deschamps Aime Jacquet
2002 S.Korea/Japan Brazil Germany 2-0 Cafu Luiz Felipe Scolari
2006 Germany Italy France 1-1(5-3) Fabio Cannavaro Marcelo Lippi
2010 S.Africa Spain Netherlands 1-0 Iker Casillas Vicente del Bosque
2014 Brazil Germany Argentina 1-0 Phillip Lahm Joachim Low
2018 Russia France Croatia 4-2 Hugo Lloris Didier Deschamps



View this post on Instagram


A post shared by FootTheBall (@foottheballofficial)

Here are the most frequently asked questions about the FIFA World Cup.

Q- Why is the World Cup every 4 years?

The FIFA World Cup is held every four years to ensure that there is enough time to finish the qualification process. Moreover, it gives the host nation time to prepare for such a marquee event.

Q- How many countries have won the FIFA World Cup?

So far, eight national teams have won the FIFA World Cup, with Brazil winning it the most number of times, with five. Other seven teams are- Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Uruguay, Argentina, England.

Also read: World Cup 2022 predictions

Q- Who is the highest goalscorer in FIFA World Cup?

German striker Miroslav Klose is the highest goalscorer in World Cup history with 16 goals across 4 World Cups. French legend Just Fontaine scored the most goals in a single World Cup wit 13.

Q- How many teams participate in the World Cup?

The number of teams in the World Cup has steadily increased. From 13 teams in the inaugural edition of 1930, the FIFA World Cup in Qatar in 2022 will have 32 teams. Next World Cup in 2026 will have 48 teams.

Q- Why is the Qatar World Cup being held in winter?

It is because the weather in Qatar makes it impossible to play football in summer. Read more about why the 2022 World Cup in held in winter here.

Q- What is the Qatar World Cup schedule?

The World Cup kicks off on 21st November and the final will be played on 19th December. The full FIFA World Cup 2022 Qatar schedule can be found here.

Vatsal Gupta
A die-hard Red Devil, who has straight up not had a good time since 2012. Lives on Korean dramas and books and can often be heard talking about armchair psychological stuff.

also read

GOAT of Saudi too

Pique, El Rey

Bolt from the Blues